Experiments in cranking out words like a cracked up monkey

So 4 days in and… holy shit, I’m on track.  In fact, if it hadn’t been for a few bits of excess real life, I’d be ahead.  I wrote 1800 words in a hour today which is about twice my usual speed.  And I’ve been pretty consistent with that speed over the past 4 days.

Rather than this simply me bragging about how fast I’ve been slamming my palms against the keyboard, I thought I’d try and post something useful about why I thought this was happening.

  1. Excitement.  OK, this one might seem a little like low hanging fruit, but I think it’s important.  I am really excited about this project.  I’m excited to put down what happens next.  I’ve written things I’ve been less excited about, and it slows me down.  It becomes more of a chore.  If you’re not loving your project, work out why and change it.  If you need to throw something out, it’s still early days, and excitement might help you make up the difference
  2. Planning. This one, I admit, is very subjective.  But having everything planned out gives me one less thing to worry about when I’m writing. I know what I’ve got to do in the scene, now I just need to do it. I’m not having to stop and think things through, I’m just plowing ahead.  If you’re going is slow, maybe take a break and plan things out. Again, any time you lose could be made up with increased output.
  3. SO MUCH PLOT. Honestly, I think this may be the main one. The way this book has ended up, Natania and I have to cram a ton of stuff into each chapter.  And that keeps it fresh, it keeps me excited about how to transition to the next beat, the next revelation. I am always writing towards something.  There’s an urgency to the narrative that translates into an urgency in the act of writing itself. So is enough going on in your story?  Enough to keep you hungry and writing for more.

Anybody else got suggestions on how to keep the word count up?

Leave a Reply

